March 17, 2022: Curriculum Innovation Grants Awarded

15 March 2022

On behalf of the Faculty Curricular Planning Committee, the Committee for Effective Learning with Technology, Ethical Inquiry at Carleton, and the Writing Advisory Committee, I am delighted to announce this year’s faculty Curriculum Innovation Grant awards.
–Gretchen Hofmeister, Dean of the College

Faculty Curricular Planning Committee Grants:

  • Palmar Álvarez-Blanco, Spanish, to expand her SPAN.244 Spain Today course by establishing a collaboration with UNATE, a Senior Citizens University in Santander, Spain.
  • Jenna Conklin, Linguistics, for the development of a new advanced linguistics seminar on bilingualism and code-switching.
  • Anna Dotlibova, German and Russian, to create two new courses in Russian animation.
  • Christina Farhart, Political Science, to redesign and expand the syllabus and incorporate exercises and activities into her Race and Politics course.
  • Laska Jimsen, Cinema and Media Studies, for revisions across the production curriculum to engage resources from the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Teaching Media initiative, and revise a unit of CAMS.288.
  • Kiley Kost, German and Russian, to develop a new course, Weimar Germany: Culture, Art, Politics, Failure.
  • Sara Meerts, Psychology and Neuroscience, to develop a lab for Hormones, Brain, and Behavior culminating in an inquiry-based research project and identification of readings that draw from underrepresented groups in science.
  • Susannah Ottaway, History, for two workshops for the history department to create improved, shared assignments and assessment practices for community-engaged courses.
  • Seth Peabody, German and Russian, to conduct research and design course materials for a course, Seeking Shelter in a Dangerous World, a new A&I seminar.
  • Juliane Schicker, German and Russian, to design a new, dual-level course for the German sequence tentatively titled, What’s New: The Latest Works in German-Speaking Media.
  • Rou-Jia Sung and Mike Nishizaki, Biology, for a project to pilot a re-design of the BIOL.126 curriculum.

Committee for Effective Learning with Technology Grants:

  • Miaki Habuka, Asian Languages and Literatures, to create a series of vocabulary and grammar review activities for intermediate level Japanese students using Moodle.
  • Miaki Habuka, Asian Languages and Literatures, and Carly Born, Information Technology Services, for their Listening Skills Enhancement project to enrich students’ out-of-classroom learning experiences and improve their listening skills.

Ethical Inquiry Grants:

  • Kelly Connole, Art and Art History, for her project, “The Ethics of Materials: Sustainable Practices in Ceramics.”
  • Annette Nierobisz, Sociology and Anthropology, and Julie Neiworth, Psychology, to develop in-class activities for students in their respective aging courses.

Writing Across the Curriculum:

  • Austin Mason, Digital Arts and Humanities & History, to redesign assignments and assessment strategies in the introductory Digital Arts and Humanities course, Hacking the Humanities.
  • MurphyKate Montee, Mathematics and Statistics, to develop course materials to improve the teaching of writing throughout all levels of the math curriculum.