The following trophy awards are made annually to individual students in the groups indicated.

The Warren L. Beson Memorial Award for athletic and academic excellence is given to a senior who has won one or more awards in any sport, has a high scholastic average, and is unanimously recommended by the Director of Athletics, the Dean of Students, the faculty representative to the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, and the officers of the “C” Club. The award is not necessarily given annually.

The C. J. Hunt Football Award was established in 1957 by Carleton alumni in the Twin Cities area to honor Mr. C. J. Hunt, who was head football coach and Director of Athletics at Carleton from 1913 to 1917 and from 1920 to 1931. The award is given annually to the Carleton football player who has shown the most improvement during the current season.

The Kelly Memorial Baseball Award was established in 1949 by Mr. and Mrs. Thomas R. Kelly of Owatonna, Minnesota, as a memorial to their son, Lieutenant James M. Kelly, Class of 1945. Lieutenant Kelly, an officer in the United States Army, died in France on September 1, 1944, of wounds received in the Battle for Brest. The trophy is awarded each year to the player making the most outstanding contribution to the Carleton baseball team.

The William S. And Mary Agnes Kelly Memorial Award was established in 1988 by Mr. Kelly’s children and friends as a memorial tribute and to honor one male and female track athlete annually judged by the coaches as the most improved track team members. Mr. and Mrs. Kelly were the parents of two Carleton alumni: William S. Kelly, Jr., Class of 1957, and Thomas S. Kelly, Class of 1960.

The Lippert Memorial Football Award was established in 1953 by Mr. and Mrs. Cort Lippert of Northfield, Minnesota. Cort Lippert, Class of 1939, is a brother of Lieutenant James A. Lippert, United States Army Air Corps, who died in 1943 in Italy. The trophy, a memorial to Lieutenant Lippert, is awarded each year to the player who contributes the most to the Carleton football team.

The John M. Millen Track Award, established in 1959 by Mr. Theodore Kolderie, Class of 1926, is presented to the athlete “who has contributed the most in the interest of track.” The award memorializes John M. Millen, track coach and resident head of men’s dormitories at Carleton from 1923 until his death in 1930.

The Stephen F. Smith Memorial Cross Country AwARD was established in 1966 by the family and friends of Stephen F. Smith, who drowned in a boating accident during the summer of his junior year. It is presented annually to the athlete who displays the greatest dedication to cross country running and to Carleton athletics.

The Mike Stam Memorial Award was established in 1988 by friends and family of Mike Stam ’89, a Carleton athlete who died in a snowmobiling accident in January of 1988. The award is presented to the outstanding defensive lineman in the MIAC as voted on by the MIAC coaches.

The Mel Taube Award, established in 1980 by the Alumni “C” Club and other friends, is given for dedication, loyalty, competitive spirit, and excellence in varsity athletics. The award, presented in memory of Melvin H. Taube, who coached at Carleton from 1950 to 1970, is not necessarily given annually.

The Marc Von Trapp Spirit Award was created by family, friends and teammates in 1998 to memorialize Marc von Trapp, Class of 2000, who died during his sophomore year. The award is presented annually to the most outstanding member of the Carleton College Hockey Team who contributes the most both on and off the ice. The Marc von Trapp Spirit Award is the highest honor given to a Carleton hockey player.

The Warnecke Swimming Award was established in 1956 by Mr. Frederic E. Warnecke of Evanston, Illinois. It is presented each year to the senior swimmer who has made the greatest contribution to the Carleton swim team.

The Matt Zell Sophomore Player Award was established in 1968 by his former teammates, as a memorial to Major Matthew N. Zell IV, Class of 1959, who died in 1967. The trophy is awarded each year to a sophomore football player for dedication and loyalty to the Carleton football team.