Club Officers 2023-24

  • President: AJ Ristino
  • Vice President: Colin Kroll
  • Treasurer: Gabe Seidman
  • Safety Officer: Zach Ventura

Interested in Men’s Lacrosse? Contact AJ Ristino ( for more information!

About the Men’s Lacrosse Team

The Carleton Men’s Lacrosse team is a competitive college lacrosse team that both competes against the nation’s top teams, and provides an inclusive atmosphere. The Carleton lacrosse team prides itself on its openness to all skill levels as it hosts everyone from high school All-Americans to new beginners.

We recently changed leagues, so we now play in the Great Lakes Lacrosse League (GLLL). Our division includes private colleges and state schools from Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin and the Dakotas. Each year we play in the league’s postseason tournament in Madison. We have finished in the top 8 (out of 32) in the league each of the last two years.

The club is open to players of all skill levels, and prides itself on being great fun while staying highly competitive. If you are interested in lacrosse at Carleton, we highly encourage you to fill out the website’s contact form. Go Knights!

2024 Team Roster

  • A.J. Ristino
  • Rye Storrs
  • Samuel, Isaacman
  • Noah Morris
  • Max Rhodes
  • John Moon-Black
  • Chris Liao 
  • Matthew, Song
  • Eric, Lail
  • Gabe Seidman
  • Zach Ventura
  • Hector, Capeilleres
  • Ansel Wallace
  • Colin, Kroll
  • Ben, Ansbacher

2024 Competition Schedule

  • Coming soon!

2024 Practice Schedule

  • Coming soon!

Team History

The 2013 season was plagued by unprecedented snowfall, forcing all of our practices and games indoors. Despite these difficulties, the Knights put together a strong squad, finishing the year with a 3-4 record. This includes a win over rival St. Olaf (11-7), and a nail-biter victory against Dordt that came down to a game winner in the last minute. The team was led by seniors Dave Abel ’13 and Jens Lillehei ’13, but the Junior class developed a lot this year as well – Josh Carson ’14 led the team in Goals and Assists. The defensive duo of Ben Breen ’14 and Thomas Cristofaro ’14, backed up by our stud goalie Julian Skotheim ’15, were nearly unstoppable at times. We also added some great freshmen, including midfielder (and Phil Blue reincarnate) Kurt Heise ’16, and defensemen Matt “The Brick Wall” Mensinger ’16.  

The 2012 Season

The Knights look to maintain the momentum they gathered at the end of last season and make it four straight trips to the playoffs.  With only two seniors on the squad, Captains Billy Shapiro and True Overholt, the team looks to its youngsters to contribute immediately and help fill the shoes of departing starters Will Tynan, Sam “Bernie” Althauser, Courtney Morris, Jason Weischedel, and of course, the fan favorite, Tony Eccles.  With former Carleton CSA President and lacrosse captain Jim Watkins acting as a volunteer coach; the Knights are prepared for another season of competitive play.  The Knights began their season well, beating St. Olaf in a scrimmage at the Xcel Energy Center in front of a raucous crowd.

The 2011 Season

Led by four year starters Will Tynan (’11) and Courtney Morris (’11) the Carleton Men’s Lacrosse team made the UMLL playoffs for the third consecutive season.  Playing without a true head coach (but under the guidance of Ed Buchwald) the team rallied from a slow start to win three straight league competitions and clinch a spot in the playoffs by a combined score of 40 – 25, including a thrilling 13 – 12 victory against UW Eau Claire.

The 2010 Season

The Knights made the UMLL playoffs for the second consecutive season in 2010 despite heart wrenching losses at Bethel (13 – 14) and against UW Eau Claire (12 – 13).  The team was spurred on by exhilarating wins against St. Olaf (17 – 15) and North Dakota State University (7-6) and the incredible play of a young core of players including freshman Dave Abel and sophomore Billy Shapiro, who, hobbled by an ankle injury early in the season, contributed five goals against St. Olaf, and was named a junior captain at the end of the season.

Alumni Fondly Remember Lacrosse at Carleton:

Thank you to all who assisted so genuinely in helping the team enjoy such a magnificent year of growth and to all who will help as this process moves forward into the future. –Tim Singer ’08

“I was at Carleton from 1990-94, during which time we had some pretty solid results. At the time we didn’t have the Upper Midwest Lacrosse League, but rather the Minnesota Collegiate Lacrosse League, which may still exist. I don’t think we had a league championship in 1991, and I was abroad in 1992, but in 1993 we were knocked out in the semifinals by St. Thomas, and in 1994 we were in fact the Minnesota Collegiate Lacrosse League Champions, after pummeling U of M Duluth in the finals. I was a tournament MVP that year on attack, and the Captain, Dave Cameron, was an MVP for Defense I believe. I think the only teams we lost to that year were The Minneapolis and Twin Cities Lacrosse Clubs, and our record was on the order of 15-4”

Alex Whittmore, ’94

“I played Lacrosse at Carleton from Spring 1986 through Spring 1989, missing 1987 due to study abroad. During my time there, we were captained by Ed Foley and were quite successful, especially in 1989, when we went undefeated, including a thrilling OT win over the Johnnies [St. John’s College] when John Carlson scored a spectacular goal to win it. The Minneapolis club team was our biggest rival during this time – most of the other teams we played were populated with hockey players just learning how to handle a lacrosse stick. Led by our fearless captain, team leaders included David Butzel, Ed Ford, Titus Song, Wes Lofgren and Chris Tapper. Keith Burke thought he was one of our best players, and we let him think that. As for myself, I was a 3rd line middie whose first exposure to the game came at Carleton. I continued my lacrosse career as a coach for several East Coast prep schools.”

— Paul Grossi, ’89