Check out the CHOP Website!

Club Officers 2022-2023

  • Co-President: Chris O’Mara
  • Co-President: Gabe Driscoll
  • Co-President: Matthew Smith-Erb
  • Instructor: Max Longchamp

Interested in CHOP? Contact Matthew Smith-Erb ( for more information!


2022-23 Winter Practice Schedule

  • Tuesday: 9:30-11pm
  • Saturday: 4-5:30pm

*Additional practice times in dome

2022-23 Competition Schedule

  • Coming 2oon!

2022-23 Roster

  • Matthew Smith-Erb
  • Brendan Banfield
  • Will Hassell
  • Gavyn Jensen-Schneider
  • Liam Etelson
  • Avery Hall
  • Elek Thomas-Toth
  • Gabe Driscoll
  • Ed Dowling
  • Emmett Forster
  • Isaac Endo
  • Graham Gordon
  • Felix Lion
  • Beckett Schafer

2009, 2010 and 2012 Division III National Champions!

Club History


“I was one of the founders of CHOP in the Winter & Spring of 1995 (along with Craig Graddick, Bryn Perkins and numerous others). We actually applied to the student senate to become our own club team separate from CUT, but this was rejected and we fell under CUT’s charter along with the variously named B-team. In 1995, sectionals were held at Carleton. We placed third behind CUT and Macalester and qualified to go to Regionals. At Regionals we won only one game before being eliminated, but we were happy to be the first non-CUT team to win a game at a Regionals competition. After the 1995 season almost the whole team graduated, including myself, and I’m truly impressed that it has kept going!”

Chris Welcker ’95

In 1996 CHOP was captained by returning players Josh Galster, Bill Kroeger and Wilbur Winkelman. CHOP finished 4th at sectionals behind CUT, UW Madison, and Macalester.

The 1996 team became the first (and possibly only) CHOP team to advance out of pool play at regionals finishing second behind Indiana University and ahead of University of Ohio and the University of Iowa. CHOP then was eliminated with a loss to UW Madison and a close loss to Macalester. CHOP finished the 1996 season ranked 26th in the country according to the UPA national collegiate rankings.

Players participating at regionals included: Josh Galster, Bill Kroeger, JJ Kuhn, Garth Spellman, Tim Collyer, Trung Quach, Brian Clark, Jesse Gall, Tate Anderson, Ronnie Yeh, Eric Plaksin, and Ian Gilby.

“Others who played throughout the season but were unable to attend regionals included: Wilbur Winkelman, Noah Hillman, Eoin O’Hara, Jason Stangl, Matt Wilson, Walter Narcum, and Conor Weir”

Brian Clark