Rachel Rosenfeld Prize

The Rachel A. Rosenfeld Prize for Excellence in the Study of Sociology and Anthropology was established in 2011 in memory of Rachel A. Rossenfeld ’70, a professor of sociology at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

The prize is awarded each spring by the sociology and anthropology department to a senior who exhibits:

  • Promise in making professional contributions in the areas of sociology or anthropology
  • A high level of intellectual curiosity
  • Courage in the face of challenges
  • Devotion to our community, and
  • Enthusiasm for making connections between social theory and practice. 

Please direct any questions to Liz Raleigh or Tammi Shintre

Rosenfeld Fellow 2019
Randa Larsen ’19 with her proud parents