What is the CarlAlert Mobile Safety App?
The CarlAlert Safety App lets the Carleton community receive safety alerts with confidence—even when cell systems or SMS services are down—directly through an app downloaded from the Apple or Google Play app stores. While CarlAlerts received over email and text can look like spam, Safety App users immediately recognize CarlAlerts as true and can respond confidently.
The safety app provides additional useful features including an SOS alert, emergency call to security, safe corridor escort, check-in, and a link to the Carleton Emergency Information Guide.
CarlAlert Safety App Features

Single touch to report your location in case of an emergency.

Check-in along the way as you travel on campus. If the system doesn’t receive an expected check-in, the SOS feature activates.

Single touch call to security, like a portable blue phone.

Calls security and provides your phone’s location. The phone’s camera and audio activate.

Provides information for taking action in emergencies.
How to Get the CarlAlert Safety App
1. Watch this helpful video.
2. Download the app from Apple or Google Play app stores
3. Enter one of our organization keywords, Carleton or Carleton College, to find our subscription and sign in using single sign-on (SSO).
4. Begin using the app! You can click on the red badge in the lower right to access the additional features. The app requires that location services are turned on to receive alerts and use features.
Privacy Information with the CarlAlert Safety App
The CarlAlert Safety App is a powerful safety tool that puts control of your safety at your fingertips. The app uses data sharing to accomplish this. The app may collect any/all of this data:
- User information including account name and phone number.
- Usage Details including when and from where the device was installed.
- Device Information including the device’s unique identifier and phone number.
- Digital Media including photos the user uploads and contacts if granted access.
- Location Information as described in detail in the Everbridge Privacy Notice as it relates to wifi, Bluetooth, and GPS collection of location.
The app developer Everbridge states:
- The app can have access to the user’s location.
- This app may use the user’s location even when it isn’t open
- The app can have access to the user’s camera, photos, and videos.
- The app can have access to the device’s Bluetooth.
- The app can have access to location data including approximate location (network-based), precise location (GPS and network-based), and extra location provider commands.
- User data will not be shared outside of Everbridge or the organization with which you have purposefully connected.
- The data will not be shared with a third-party.
You as the user have full control over privacy settings and you have the power to decide what information is shared and when, including location, images, and videos through your device’s sharing and location settings. The safety app does not collect more data than the app requires.You can review the Everbridge Privacy Notice for more information.