Professor Kimberly Smith awarded the Forest History Society’s 2020 Charles A. Weyerhaeuser Book Award

5 October 2020

Kimberly Smith, Professor of Environmental Studies and Political Science, received the Forest History Society’s Charles A. Weyerhaeuser Book Award for 2020 for her recent book, The Conservation Constitution: The Conservation Movement and Constitutional Change, 1870-1930 (University Press of Kansas, 2019).  The award recognizes superior scholarship in forest and conservation history, and seeks to honor authors who exhibit fresh insight into a topic and whose narrative analysis is clear, inventive, and thought-provoking.  In receiving this award, Professor Smith joins a long and distinguished list of ground-breaking scholars who have been honored by the Forest History Society since it established its book award in 1977.