Carleton community celebrates 2023–24 academic year with Honors Convocation

Amidst a cloud of bubbles and speeches from the president, chaplain, and more, Carleton students were recognized for prestigious national awards and fellowships, honor societies, and Carleton-specific awards and prizes.

Erica Helgerud ’20 27 May 2024 Posted In:
Close-up on the main podium in Skinner Chapel.

The Carleton community gathered in Skinner Chapel on Friday, May 24 at 3 p.m. for Honors Convocation, a celebration of Carleton students’ academic excellence and the culmination of the 2023–24 academic year. Honors Convo is the final event in the convocation program, a Carleton tradition that this term featured speakers such as Dr. Anthony Abraham Jack, Professor Francis Fukuyama, and Jaylen Smith, the youngest African American mayor in the history of the United States. Honors Convo also features the Bubble Brigade at the beginning and end of the program, where Carleton seniors blow bubbles from the Chapel balcony over the faculty’s processional and recessional.

This year’s convo address also follows a new tradition set last year with the Carleton Chinese Music Ensemble; instead of being delivered by a traditional speaker, the address was a two-part performance by Carleton musicians. This year, the Carleton String Quartet, led by Instructor in Violin and Viola Natalia Moiseeva, performed pieces by Franz Schubert and Astor Piazzolla.

Before the announcement of individual awards, President Alison Byerly commended the achievements of all the students being honored.

“While their accomplishments differ, what these students share are the qualities that make Carleton students special: intellectual curiosity, energetic engagement, and commitment to the hard work of learning,” she said. “These students have taken full advantage of Carleton’s broad liberal arts education, covering every area of the curriculum and undertaking significant research projects. Our recognition of their efforts today is a tribute not only to their hard work, but that of the faculty who taught and mentored them, the staff who supported them, and the friends and fellow students who formed part of their Carleton community.”

Carls were the recipients of more than 80 prizes, fellowships, honor societies, and awards this year. This piece will highlight just a few; to see the full list of honorees, check out the program on the Honors Convo website.

Acacia Coker ’24 was selected for the Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange (CBYX) for Young Professionals program, which will allow her to explore her interest in public health during a year of cultural immersion in Germany. Parker Johnson ’26 was awarded a Critical Language Scholarship to study Turkish at Ankara University in Ankara, Turkey. Kai Oishi ’24 received a Rotary Foundation Global Grant Fellowship, which he will use to fund graduate-level studies abroad. Luisa Cichowski ’24 received the Projects For Peace award, an initiative from the Davis United World College Scholars Program that supports students in creating their own “grassroots projects for peace.”

Six Carleton students from the Class of 2024 — Hazel DeHarpporte, Annemily Hoganson, Isabel Hoyt-Niemiec, Esme Krohn, Roderick Liu, and Joshua Moore — received Fulbright awards to pursue independent research, graduate study, or English teaching in different countries around the world. Caroline Stanton ’27 was honored with admission to the Fulbright UK Summer Institute, a highly competitive and renowned program that sends first- and second-year undergraduates from the United States to study at a highly regarded UK university. Katrin Birk ’25 and Oliver Licht ’25 were honored with awards from Fulbright MITACS-Globalink, a program that supports student participation in advanced research projects at Canadian universities.

Carleton also celebrated the induction of students into two honor societies; 56 Carls were announced as part of Mortar Board and 76 as part of Phi Beta Kappa.

Carleton Student Association (CSA) President Kaori Hirano ’25 celebrated the exceptional accomplishments of Carleton students with thoughtful remarks and an emphasis on the entire Carleton community.

“Whether you’re leaving Carleton in a few weeks or continuing this fall, the contributions you’ve made will continue to have an impact,” Hirano said. “For years, you’ve thrived in this community known for its curiosity and collaboration. The projects you’ve initiated, the clubs you’ve led, and the research you’ve conducted have created new knowledge, opportunities, and improvements. Your involvement has not only enhanced your personal growth but also impacted the lives of those around you. Even though the awards today celebrate individual achievement, your success — academically and otherwise — has been supported by a community.”

Erica Helgerud ’20 is the news and social media manager for Carleton College.