Steven P. Galovich Prize in Mathematics at Carleton College

This prize was established in 2009 by the generosity of alumni and friends to honor the memory of Steve Galovich, Professor of Mathematics from 1974 to 1994.

Steven P. Galovich was a mathematics professor and associate dean of the college at Carleton from 1974 to 1994. For the next twelve years, he was at Lake Forest College, where he served as provost, dean of the faculty, and mathematics professor. He specialized in number theory. His excellence as a mathematical writer was recognized in 1988, when he received the Carl B. Allendoerfer Award for expository writing in mathematics. Professor Galovich was especially supportive of student research, and personally involved many Carleton students in mathematical explorations.

The prize honors graduating mathematics majors who best reflect Professor Galovich’s enthusiasm for and love of mathematics, zestful joy in life, sense of humor, and compassion for others.

Prize Recipients:

Maximilian Olivier, 2009
Danny Wells, 2010
Cory Barnes and Lilly Betke-Brunswich, 2011
Ben Anderson and Erika Warrick, 2012
Ben Strasser and Daoji Huang, 2013
Greg Michel and Martin Bobb, 2014
Harrison Reeder and Kaitlyn Cook, 2015
Michelle Mastrianni and Joseph Slote, 2016
Meg Crenshaw and Moses Misplon, 2017
Maria Briseno Martinez, Martha Torstenson, Qimeng Yu, 2018
Janna Wennberg and Ian Seong, 2019
Fares Soufan and Elisa Loy, 2020
Marcella Manivel, 2021