1891-1893An era of significant events for Carleton athletics. Included within these years are the formation of officially sanctioned teams in baseball and football, the hiring of Max Exner as instructor of "physical culture," including work in fencing and gymnastics for both men and women, the institution of compulsory exercise classes for all students, and the first reports of the new game of basketball being played by women in the Gridley Hall gymnasium.
1893Carleton awards the first of six Ph.D.s (last in 1909).
1893Exercise classes required of all students.
1896Scoville Memorial Library is built.
1898Freshman Ernest Lundeen, a future U.S. Senator, is one of 12 Carls to trade school books for Army garb when the Spanish-American War begins in 1898.
1898Carleton family crest becomes an unofficial symbol of the College.
1899Thorstein Veblen '80 publishes The Theory of the Leisure Class.
1902Opening of Laird Athletic Field. Its covered grandstand is a gift of the Class of 1895.
1903Rev. William H. Sallmon, a graduate of Yale and pastor of the South Congregational Church of Bridgeport, Conn., takes office in January, following President Strong's retirement after 32 years as president of the College.
1903The Carleton Mission Board forms to coordinate and raise funds for the foreign missionary activities of Carleton students. Its major task will be support of the mission station established after 1907 in Fenchow, Shansi province, China. The mission, which includes a hospital and middle school, is principally the work of Carleton alums Watts Pye '03, Gertrude Chaney Pye '08, Percy Watson '03, and Clara French Watson '03.
1904A semester schedule replaces the original 3-term calendar.
1905The Carleton football team wins the first of 10 championships in the next 13 seasons.
1905/06Distribution requirements and a system of majors and minors are introduced.
1906The New Laird Hall of Science is dedicated.
1906Trustees dissolve the Carleton Academy.
1909Northfield becomes a "dry" town. (Local prohibition lasts until 1948.)
1909In October Donald J. Cowling, a Yale man who had taught philosophy at Baker University, is inaugurated as Carleton's third president. President Sallmon stepped down in 1908 after a five-year tenure marred by unhappy contention with elements of the old guard displeased with the new policies. A faculty committee headed by Dean Herbert C. Wilson ran affairs until Cowling took office. Only 29 years old, Cowling will define Carleton for the next 36 years.
1909Construction of Sayles-Hill Gymnasium. Formal dedication of the new facility is January 26, 1910.
1911Carleton's first student self-government association founded by the women of Gridley Hall. Originally, known as the Young Women's Student Government Association, in 1928 it will be renamed Women's League. Parallel - though generally less effective - organizations for men are inaugurated in 1916 and again in 1937.
1911Blue added to maize as school colors.
1912Conservatory of Music is created; it awarded its own Bachelor of Music degrees for the next 12 years.
1914Carleton forms a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa.
1914Music Hall opens in January.
1914The College Farm is purchased and dairy operations are begun.
1916A new "Men's Dormitory" is occupied in September. Known for some years as West Hall, in 1925 it is renamed Burton Hall in memory of Marion LeRoy Burton '00.
1916Carleton celebrates its semicentennial anniversary.
1916Dedication of Skinner memorial Chapel
1916Development of Lyman Lakes begins.