The 435 seats in the House of Representatives are divided among the fifty states on the basis of a state’s population as compared with other states. After the Census Bureau has established the final, official State population counts, the data is presented to the President, who then reports the figures to Congress. The report shows the population of each state, the total number of Representatives (435), and the number of Representatives that each state is allotted. After Congress has heard this report, the Clerk of the House of Representatives sends each state’s governor a certificate showing him or her how many Representatives that state may send to the next Congress.