• Creative Capital | Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant Program

    21 April 2015

    The Creative Capital | Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant Program supports individual writers whose work addresses contemporary visual art through grants in the following categories: Article, Blog, Book, New and Alternative Media, and Short-Form Writing. Grants range from $15,000 to $50,000.

    Designed to encourage and reward writing about contemporary art that is rigorous, passionate, eloquent, and precise, as well as to create a broader audience for arts writing, the Arts Writers Grant Program aims to strengthen the field as a whole and to ensure that critical writing remains a valued mode of engaging the visual arts.

    Deadline: May 21, 2015.

    More information: Arts Writers Grant Program guidelines

  • NEH Summer Stipends for 2014

    25 June 2013

    National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Stipends support individuals pursuing advanced research that is of value to scholars and general audiences in the humanities. Recipients of the $6,000 grants spend two months of full-time work producing articles, monographs, books, digital materials, archaeological site reports, translations, editions, or other scholarly tools. Summer Stipends support projects at any stage of development. Since the College can only nominate two tenure-track or tenured faculty for Summer Stipends, all such faculty must submit applications to the College’s internal selection process. Non-tenure track faculty can submit applications outside of this process.

    More information: Christopher Tassava at x5833 or ctassava


    College – Tuesday, September 3, 2013
    NEH – Thursday, September 26, 2013

    NEH Summer Stipend webpage

  • The National Endowment for the Humanities’ Enduring Questions grant program supports faculty members in the teaching and development of a new course that will foster intellectual community through the study…

  • Core Fulbright Scholar Program

    1 February 2012

    The core Fulbright Scholar Program sends 800 U.S. faculty and professionals abroad each year. Grantees lecture and conduct research in a wide variety of academic and professional fields. Awards at hundreds of institutions around the world are available; awards include research, teaching, and combination research-teaching positions. In recent years, two Carleton faculty members have used Fulbrights to spend time abroad.

    The Fulbright Scholar Program sponsored by the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, and is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES). For further questions, please contact Christopher Tassava at ctassava or x5833 or read the Fulbright Scholar Program webpages.

    The next deadline is August 1, 2012.

  • The Fulbright-Hays–Group Projects Abroad Program provides grants to support overseas projects in training, research, and curriculum development in modern foreign languages and area studies for teachers, students, and faculty engaged in a common endeavor. Projects may include short-term seminars, curriculum development, group research or study, or advanced intensive language programs.

  • Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowships to Assist Research and Artistic Creation are intended for men and women who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts. Guggenheim Fellowships are made to selected individuals made for a minimum of six months and a maximum of twelve months. The average amount of Fellowship grants in the 2008 United States and Canada competition was approximately $43,200. Since the purpose of the Guggenheim Fellowship program is to help provide Fellows with blocks of time in which they can work with as much creative freedom as possible, grants are made freely. No special conditions attach to them, and Fellows may spend their grant funds in any manner they deem necessary to their work. Applications and accompanying documents from citizens and permanent residents of the United States and Canada should be submitted no later than September 15.