Planning Committee Charge

The Planning Committee will guide the development of a new Campus Facilities Plan, which will be designed to support and advance the 2033 Strategic Direction that the Board of Trustees approved in October 2023.

The 2033 Strategic Direction notes a number of Campus Facilities questions and needs to be explored in this process. We will begin by developing a better understanding of our current space utilization and needs, including classrooms, office, and meeting space. We anticipate that this work will reveal a variety of needs, and will augment those identified in the Strategic Direction. These include facilities needs for sustainability, recreation sports and athletics, faculty and staff housing, and humanities, as well as reimagining possibilities for the Alumni Guest House, Sayles-Hill and 200 Division Street.

Building on the 2014 Facilities Plan, and with input from the campus community, the Planning Committee should produce a set of prioritized recommendations that will inform how campus facilities should be changed (added, renovated or removed) and better utilized to support the implementation of the Strategic Direction and help advance the College’s mission.

The Planning Committee will include students, faculty, staff and trustee representatives, and will work closely with an outside firm specializing in campus facilities planning throughout this process. The Core Committee is a subset of the Planning Committee (noted below with *) which will help guide the work between meetings and coordinate the engagement with the outside firm. Though the Planning Committee is envisioned to be the central group working on the Campus Facilities Plan, other planning groups may be convened along the way to focus on specific areas of need.

We anticipate that this work will take 12-18 months beginning in December 2023 and that the Planning Committee will meet approximately once per month.

Campus Facilities Plan Committee Members

  • Lee Clark, director of student activities
  • Eric Egge (Co-chair)*, associate provost
  • Laura Goering, William H. Laird Professor of Russian and the Liberal Arts
  • Nathan Hawkins ’27
  • Heidi Jaynes, professor of physical education, athletics, and recreation
  • Dillon Johnson ’26
  • Jonathan Lafky, associate professor of economics
  • Michelle Mattson*, provost and vice president for academic affairs and professor of German
  • Lori Pearson, professor of religion
  • Eric Runestad (Co-chair)*, vice president and treasurer
  • Dan Rustad, associate vice president for development
  • Beth Vivant, coordinator for the Summer Liberal Arts Institute
  • Linda Weingarten*, associate vice president for facilities and capital planning
  • Candace Williams ’73, trustee and chair of the Board of Trustees building and grounds committee