Dacie 77

Dacie Moses lived much of her life at 110 Union Street, right next door to Carleton’s campus. She was involved with Carleton for 75 years, including 50 years as an employee of the College. For the last 25 years of her life, until her death in January 1981, her home was open to students 24 hours a day. At Dacie’s students enjoyed coffee, cribbage and cookies, but mostly found warmth, generosity, openness, hospitality, humor and acceptance.

Dacie helped others through various crises even while overcoming her own problems, often at the expense of her privacy and grocery bill. Although she lived to be 97, she counted the length of her life in friends and not years. Her generous lifestyle — not dependent on wealth, health, power or position — inspired students and friends of all ages.

The Dacie Moses Award was established in 1981. Each year, the Alumni Association presents the Dacie Moses Award to the senior or seniors who best exemplify the characteristics of Dacie. To nominate someone:

  1. Please fill out the nomination form by April 15; 
  2. The names of two (but please, no more) other persons at Carleton, including at least one student and one faculty/staff member, whom you could ask to write recommendations in support of your candidate;
  3. A thoughtful statement of your own reasons as to why your nominee would be an appropriate recipient.
  4. Nominations and recommendation forms are all due by April 15.

Award Recipients

  • 2021 Beatriz Dos Santos Furtado
  • 2020 Read Daniel Stafford Wilder
  • 2019  Madeline Amanda Egan, Zene Sprout Finch and Diana Oleksandrivna Tyutyunnyk
  • 2018  Nina Muller
  • 2017  Julie Zhou
  • 2016  Vivian Do
  • 2015  Lindsay Turchan
  • 2014  Erica Rachel Lobel and Isaama Marian Stoll
  • 2013  Margaret Elizabeth Tuta
  • 2012  Jacob Canfield
  • 2011  Kelly Marie Thomas
  • 2010  Sarah Nicole Forzley
  • 2009  Christoph B. Terwitte
  • 2008  Robert Keegan Thomas
  • 2007  Lori Anna Halvorson
  • 2006  Wendy Mila Sepponen
  • 2005  Katie Thompson Newell
  • 2004  Sara Renee McIntyre
  • 2003  Suzanne Marie Schaffer
  • 2002  Rebecca Diane Hurwitz
  • 2001  Peter Andrew McAuliffe
  • 2000  Katherine Hester Elderkin
  • 1999  Jaynie Leung
  • 1998  Elena Ann Contreras
  • 1997  Nicole M. Loinaz
  • 1996  Leah von Reyn
  • 1995  Linda Katherine Jesdale
  • 1993  Eithne-Marie Noelle Barton
  • 1992  Elisabeth Ann Gilbert and Elizabeth Elliott Schuster
  • 1991  Dawn Reckinger and Sarah Catherine Maier
  • 1990  Maria Consuelo Farmer
  • 1989  Jennifer A. Bonner (posthumously)
  • 1987  Eden Toshiko Inoway
  • 1986  Christine Marie Ruggle and Patricia Marie Shanahan
  • 1985  Karen Elizabeth Hopkins
  • 1984  Douglas Arthur Bridge and Thomas Edward LaTourrette
  • 1983  Janet Carol Larsen, Gretchen Marguerite Revie and Jane Katharine Woodwell
  • 1982  Kathleen Stella Falkowski and John Wright Sither
  • 1981  Kimberly Ann Jones and Bonnie Jean Rohr