Location: Sayles Hill 253

Time: 12:00 pm

Present Sharon Akimoto, Rika Anderson, Mathias Bell, Kirk Campbell, Dennis Easley, Jen Everett, Jason Lord, Chris Petit, Bessie Schwarz, Richard Strong, and Gary Wagenbach

Absent Bucky Zietz

Secretary: Rika Anderson

Old Business:

Working Group Reports:

Report on meetings of workgroups

  • Sustainability Initiative – Leader: Rika Anderson
    • Sustainability coordinator
      • Have final draft done
      • Got support from student groups
      • Will submit soon
  • Energy – Leader: Jason Lord
    • Emissions assessment
      • Being editted in Facilities
      • Will be public soon
  • Food – Co-Leaders: Gary Wagenbach & Annie Burmaster
    • Composting
  • Material Streams/ Procurement – Leader: Dennis Easley
    • Monitoring waste stream of Myers
  • Communications – Leader: Mathias Bell
    • Sustainability Website
      • Matt Ryan working on site template
      • Phil Camill will help run the sustainability website blog
    • New Student Week
      • Met with Jim Farrell from St. Olaf
      • Waiting for approval from Robin Hart Ruthenbeck

Educational Associate Updates

~Meeting with Fred Rogers about Sustainability Coordinator

  • Final proposal gets emailed to Fred Roger’s office
  • Approval is necessary from Administrative Council, Budget Committee, College Council, and the Board of Trustees

~100% post-consumer-recycled (PCR) paper. Met with Julia Burmesch

  • 100% PCR paper might be the same price as 30% PCR paper

~Meeting with Joe Winegardner.

  • supports composting
  • will replace styrofoam cups
  • interested in having a student farm to produce organic food for the dining halls
    • dining hall will buy produce from the student farm
  • will allow students to research price comparisons between conventionally grown and organically grown goods and will switch where price is negligible

~Meeting with Liz Ciner – Adding the Environmental Statement of Principles to the Purpose of the College

  • Not sure where value statements go
  • Curriculum review on going and introduction of the course catalog will be changing
  • Diversity Initiative Group (DIG) will have the same challenges. May be good to collaborate with them.

New Business:

Sustainability Coordinator:

  • Will email for proposal approval and changes

EAC Budget:

  • What do we want to use the budget on?
    • seed money for the sustainability office?
    • internships?
    • other initiatives?

EAC Charter:

  • Committee composition
  • Consideration of social issues in addition to environmental issues
    • address sustainability
    • less specific listing of projects — more categorical
    • role in academic curriculum
  • Typical mapping
    • vision statement
      • will this change with a sustainability coordinator
      • the EAC should play an integral role in advising the sustainability coordinator
      • subcommittee for the vision/mission statement (Sustainability Initiative Workgroup)
        • Bessie will lead this initiative over break
    • work plan
    • grant

EAC collab folder: now located in the “committees” folder

Sustainability Website:

~ Information on the development of this website

Paper use:

~ Introducing student knowledge and accountability. Paper management system is in the works with the one-card system. Met with Sue Traxler and Dan Bergeson. Need to ask about St. Olaf’s system.

~ Use of 100% post-consumer recycled paper – Mohawk Color Copy Paper from Unisource. Possibility of Yupo – synthetic paper.

~ Tim Singer and Mathias Bell (CSA) are working on eliminating campus-wide mailings

Energy Use of Computers:

Green Fund:

~ Possible but need to talk with development people more.


~ Bio-diesel for fleet.


~ Sodexho

Workgroup composition:

~ Guests of this meeting are invited to join the EAC workgroups.

Meeting schedule for next term:

~ Tuesdays at common time starting Jan 10, 2006

Approval of the EAC to back the final proposal of the sustainability coordinator from the Sustainability Initiative Workgroup:

  • Email vote due by Friday at Noon.
  • Final vote is 6 yahs, 0 nahs, and 1 abstention
  • Motion passes