Location: Olin 142

Time: 12:00 pm

Present Rika Anderson, Jen Everett, Jason Lord, Chris Petit, Bessie Schwarz, and Gary Wagenbach

Absent Sharon Akimoto, Kirk Campbell, Dennis Easley, and Richard Strong

Secretary: Rika Anderson

Old Business:

Work Group Reports:

Report on meetings of workgroups

  • Sustainability Initiative – Leader: Rika Anderson
    • Sustainability coordinator
    • Carleton Sustainability Goals
  • Energy – Leader: Jason Lord
    • Emissions assessment
    • Energy month competition
    • ITS resolution to take energy saving measures
  • Food – Co-Leaders: Gary Wagenbach & Annie Burmaster
    • Composting
    • Dining Hall
  • Material Streams/ Procurement – Leader: Dennis Easley
    • Monitoring waste stream
    • In-house waste management
    • Furniture
  • Communications – Leader: Sharon Akimoto
    • Sustainability Website
    • New Student Week
    • NNB useful fact

New Business:

End of the Year report:

EAC Budget Guidelines:

~Report from sustainability initiative group/EAC subgroup

Carleton Sustainability Goals:

~Report from sustainability initiative group/EAC subgroup


~Proposal to endorse/support clean air initiative through a letter of support

Paper use:

Energy Use of Computers:

~Draft presented by the Energy Workgroup


~ Bio-diesel collaboration with Olaf


Sustainability website — Sustainability goals for the college:

ACT: Office Audit

Earth Week:

Workgroup composition:

~ Guests of this meeting are invited to join the EAC workgroups.

Meeting schedule for this term: Does Thursdays work?

Next meeting: April 13 ?