2022 Start-Up Fellowship Competition

Purpose: The Carleton Start-Up Competition seeks to encourage students pursuing for-profit and social entrepreneurship.

Competition Overview

Eligibility: Teams of at least two Carleton students are eligible to submit a proposal to the competition. Before submitting a proposal, teams should have contacted Nathan Grawe to indicate intent to submit. At that point teams will be connected with an alumni mentor.

Fellowship: The winning team will receive a fellowship which teams can use for summer stipends and/or expenses to support a start-up venture. 

Deadline for Indicating Intent to Submit a Proposal: 5:00 PM on Monday, November 1, 2021.

Deadline for Competition Proposals: Tuesday, January 25, 2022, 5:00 PM (emailed to ngrawe). Finalists will be notified by February 1, 2022.

Team Presentations: Saturday, February 19, 2022, 1:00-3:00 PM

Reception and Winning Announcement: Following team presentations

Carleton’s Entrepreneur in Residence

Jake Phillips ’07, co-founder of Prep Network, is our Entrepreneur in Residence. Jake will be available to work with you by appointment or drop-in through Zoom on select dates. Contact Nathan Grawe to be put on an email list to get updates.

Thank you to our Supporters

In addition to support from the Dean of the College, we are grateful for generous contributions from:

  • Ada M. Harrison Distinguished Teaching Professorship of the Social Sciences
  • Bruce Dalgaard & Carol Korda
  • Generous alumni donors who established the Endowed Fund for Entrepreneurship at Carleton

Previous Fellowship Winners

  • 2021: [Discussify] – Kevin Bui ’24, Quoc Nguyen ’23, and Shannon Liu ’23 & Northfield Enterprise Center PrizeKN. Y. Skating Experience Kenya Symone Cooper ’21 and Venecia Mitchell ’21
  • 2020: 句話 JUHUA – Brandon Moy ’20, John Mullan ’20, and Alan Zheng ’20
  • 2019: The Participation Station – Phil Donnelly ’22 and Madhav Mohan ’22
  • 2018: E and E: Liberal Arts for the 21st Century – Kwaku Bodom ’19, Chris Anisowicz ’18 and Brandon Fabel ’18
  • 2018: Switch – Keaton Mertz ’18 (Chemistry) and Chenxi Sun ’18 (2nd Place Team representing Carleton at the 8th Minnesota Entrepreneurship Kick-off in March 2018)
  • 2017: Adisa – Claire Tagoe ’18 and Sabastian Mugazambi ’17
  • 2017: Lift Education Consultants – Robert Kearney ’17, Sijin “Cathy” Chen ’17, and Jacob Snyder-Hansen
  • 2016: Northfield Cannon Dairy: Minnesota Nice Cream – Beau Smit ’17 and Rohan Mukherjee ’19
  • 2016: Campus Concierge – Mitchell Biewen ’17 and Jeremy Keane ’17