Coordinator: Brendan LaRocque

South Asia, which contains nearly a quarter of the world’s people, refers to the countries comprising the South Asian subcontinent: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and sometimes Afghanistan, Myanmar, and Tibet.

The minor consists of a program of study combining language training, off-campus study, required core courses in various disciplines, and supporting courses, including a designated capstone course. The purpose of the minor is to provide cross-cultural interdisciplinary understanding of a complex civilization that is both ancient and modern, and of great significance in the contemporary world. 

Off Campus Studies