Skip to main content

A Day in The Life: Covid Edition

Erin gives an overview of her schedule as a first-year at Carleton.

Erin gives an overview of her schedule as a first-year at Carleton.


As of now, we’ve just finished up our seventh week of classes. It’s hard to believe there are only three and a half weeks left! I’m currently enrolled in four courses: Introduction to Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (GWSS 110), Observational Drawing (ARTS 110), Civil Discourse in a Troubled Age (IDSC 110), and Lifestyle Yoga (PE 199).

 

Here’s what my normal schedule looks like:

 

Monday

I wake up around 9:00, get dressed in lots of layers, and run down to the LDC for a to-go breakfast. After I eat and my roommate and I complain about our lack of sleep (which is 100% our own doing), I log onto the Zoom call for my Gender Studies class which starts at 10:00. In a normal year, this class would generally take place in person… but as my title suggests, this is definitely not your typical year.

 

I get out of Gender Studies at 11:10, and have an hour until I have to head to the Weitz Center for Creativity for my art class. Sometimes I try and catch up on work for my Tuesday classes in my free time, or do little chores like writing emails or cleaning my space. I grab lunch (again from the LDC) and then head off to Weitz.

 

Class starts at 12:30, and it generally takes me about ten minutes to get to my classroom from Nourse Hall. This class meets in person, which is really nice! Art is very conducive to staying socially-distant, and it’s been great to see people face-to-face. We spend two and a half hours critiquing each others art, learning about different concepts, and drawing! Class ends at 3:00, so I generally have some time back to hang out in my dorm until dinner afterwards.

 

After I get back, I’m done with classes for the day! My schedule after classes end for the day differs, but generally it consists of a mixture of studying, resting, and eating dinner with friends.

 

Tuesday

This morning I wake up for yoga at 9:40! Yoga has been a great way to start my day, even though I sometimes resist getting up when my alarm goes off… The class ends at 10:40, and after it’s over I head out to start my day by eating breakfast/lunch/brunch at the LDC. I have some rest time between yoga and my next class, Civil Discourse, which starts at 1:35.

 

Civil Discourse is my Argument and Inquiry Seminar; all freshman are required to take an A&I course during their first term. I chose to take Civil Discourse out of an array of options—the subjects they focus on are very diverse, which is great for people of different interests. My A&I is also in-person—we meet in the second floor of the LDC. This class ends at 3:30, and then I’m done for the day. Like on Mondays, my day varies after this point—I usually try and catch up on homework or take some much-needed rest time.

 

I find that I generally do homework for about three hours a night, but it differs depending on what week it is, and what my assignments for class look like. When I first came to Carleton, I was so scared of being completely overwhelmed by all of this work. I was really surprised that though it can be very challenging at times, it’s all do-able. I am genuinely very interested in most of my homework, which makes the work go by much quicker, too!

 

Wednesday

Same as Monday.

Thursday

Same as Tuesday.

Friday

On Fridays I only have one class: Gender studies. We meet from 9:50 to 10:50 over Zoom, and then I have the rest of the day off!

 

In my spare time, I write blogs like these for my work study program!

 

In a typical year, my days would probably look a little different: I’m looking forward to joining clubs and participating in campus activities once they meet in person! Right now, I’m making do by spending time with close contacts and getting to know the people on my floor, exploring the arb, and walking to Northfield.

 


Erin grew up catching salamanders, recklessly climbing trees, and running around barefoot in the Appalachian Mountains in a small town in North Carolina. This is her first year at Carleton, and she’s looking forward to meeting new people, exploring campus (especially the arb!), and experiencing her first Minnesota winter. She is currently interested in studying psychology and gender, women’s, and sexuality studiesMeet the other bloggers!